JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use the Site in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options.

| Last Updated:31/05/2020

Latest News


Lifetime achievement award for plasma research

 GUWAHATI, March 6 - Dr Sarbeswar Bujarbarua, an eminent plasma physicist and pioneer of plasma research in the Northeast, will be conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Assam government for his contribution to advanced scientific research in plasma science and technology.Dr Bujarbarua, the founder director of the Centre of Plasma Physics, is the first Assamese scientist to receive the Vikram Sarabhai National Award in 1989 and the Kamal Kumari National Award in 1993 for his contribution to science and technology, a press release said.

He had played a major role in developing the plasma physics division at the Institute of Advanced Study in Science and Technology in Guwahati 36 years back.

The award will be presented during the State Science Award 2018 by Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal. Science and Technology Minister Keshab Mahanta will be present during the event.

On the occasion, Dr Arun Jyoti Borah, a post doctoral fellow at Nanjing University in China, will be conferred the Young Scientist Award, while the Assam Science Society will receive the Award for Promotion of Science.

Source: The Assam Tribune, Guwahati, Wednesday, March 07, 2018